I’m a Geek

I started play Dungeons & Dragons back in 1983. For the real geeks out there, it was the Mentzer Red Box. I played a fighter (or is it Fighter?) named Konclid. I don’t know where that name came from. (Apparently from the ‘Stupid-Ass Names Bureau’, or S.A.N.B). I loved it. Couldn’t get enough of it. It was like the most awesomest thing that was ever created by sentient beings.

Then I moved on to AD&D (Advanced Dungeons & Dragons). I got the Player’s Handbook from my mom and dad and read it like a fucking fiend. (Fiend would be changed to Outer Planar Entity From the Abyss in 2nd Edition). Oh my Lord was it awesome. More awesome than the Red Box (for my feelings on the Red Box, see above). The same guy that introduced me to AD&D introduced me to J. R. R. Tolkien. I read The Hobbit and passed out from acute OhgoodLordIthinkIjustshitmypants-itis.

But, that was the mid-80s. A lot of us were strange back then. A fascination with Michael Jackson and parachute pants should make everyone just acknowledge they existed, then just move on. We all grew up. Right?

Well, I didn’t. I still love games and gaming. I still have all those old AD&D books. And the Red Box set. And the Conan RPG. And Traveller. And Warhammer 40k. And Castles & Crusades (my personal favorite now). I read something from my collection at least once a week, normally every night before I go to bed. And I write. I write stories, adventures, reviews, blogs…

I denied who I was for a long time. Not to myself, I knew I was a geek. But to the world. It was hard to be taken seriously back then. “Oh, you play D&D? Wow, do you worship the Devil?” Yes. Yes, I worship the Devil. This game changed my philosophical belief in God and Christ to such an extent that I abandoned them and decided to worship Satan, because these books on how to pretend to be a Dwarf convinced me. You pegged me, Junior.

But, here I am. Forty-two years old with a daughter that is in her twenties and a son that is ten (who loves it just as much as me), a wife, a dog and a one-eyed cat. And I play games as much as I can. I love D&D. Meeting Gary Gygax will always be special to me, more than most people will ever know. Hanging out with Frank Mentzer and Tim Kask and Jim Ward and Tom Wham… these moments go a long way toward defining me. You know why?

Because I’m a geek.

Published in: on January 15, 2010 at 1:24 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kimhartsfield.wordpress.com/2010/01/15/im-a-geek/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. And welcome to the blogosphere. I hope you blog more often. 🙂

  2. you crack me the hell up. I love geeks! lol I can check this out on my phone so keep it up.

  3. I’ve always loved your sense of humor. Sure miss you, man (I guess I’m supposed to say “no homo” now). You will go down at the best DM ever!

    • Thanks Jesse, I appreciate it. And of course it’s not not gay to say that you miss the secret things we used to do in that small room while we were at sea for months straight.


Leave a Reply

